Executive Office

The 4-VA executive office grows the strategic partnership with state-level stakeholders at the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and in the governor’s office. The office manages requests and inquiries from the public and private sectors about 4-VA activities. They are also the point of contact for those seeking to collaborate or join 4-VA.

In 2014, the executive office of 4-VA rotated from GMU to JMU. Nick Swayne, the JMU campus coordinator, also serves as the 4-VA executive director. The executive director works in tandem with the 4-VA working group, comprised of 4-VA deputy and campus coordinators, to make decisions about the strategic direction of 4-VA on each of the campuses.

“We have established bold objectives for creating collaborative courses that truly fulfill our mission to do more together than we could do on our own. 4-VA institutions are working together to quickly respond to urgent issues such as big data, robotics, and cybersecurity in order to make a lasting impact on the future of the commonwealth.”
– Nick Swayne, 4-VA Executive Director

Working Group

Campus coordinators and deputy campus coordinators meet monthly via telepresence to discuss, plan, and share 4-VA activities. The events and grant opportunities at any particular 4-VA university are determined by the campus coordinator. Potential collaborations and new partnerships are discussed among working group members. Additionally, the working group—in partnership with the executive office—coordinates and hosts conferences for the 4-VA community.

(540) 568-6093
Email Nick

Nick Swayne

4-VA Executive Director
JMU Campus Coordinator

(540) 568-7170
Email Karris

Karris Atkins

4-VA Assistant Director
JMU Deputy Campus Coordinator

(703) 993-8891
Email Janette

Janette Kenner Muir

GMU Campus Coordinator

(703) 993-8722
Email Marcy

Marcy R. L. Glover

GMU Deputy Campus Coordinator

Elizabeth Gillooly

GMU Faculty and Community
Outreach Coordinator

(757) 683-3726
Email Andy

Andy Casiello

ODU Campus Coordinator

(757) 683-4232
Email Dean

Dean Claud

ODU Deputy Campus Coordinator

(757) 683-7136
Email Mitsue

Mitsue Shiokawa

ODU Grants Manager

(434) 924-3728
Email Matt

Matt Banfield

UVA Campus Coordinator

(804) 828-0712
Email John

Dr. John Ryan

VCU Campus Coordinator

(540) 464-7254
Email Marthe

VMI logo
Marthe Honts

VMI Campus Coordinator

(540) 231-5004
Email Lujean

Lujean Baab
Lujean Baab

VT Campus Coordinator

(540) 231-2309
Email Judy

Judy Alford
Judy Alford

VT Deputy Campus Coordinator

(757) 221-2407
Email Margaret

Margaret Saha

WM Campus Coordinator